What are these, so withered and so wild in their attire?

Last night, I got to take part in a little scene from Macbeth, when Macbeth and Banquo first encoutner the Three Witches. I got to play Banquo. While I did not have much time to rehearse or memorize lines, and I only had 2 speeches, it was a fun return for me to Shakespeare and acting. The ladies who played the witches were great. Angele got really creative without much time to prepare: she procured an ad hoc “pilot’s thumb” by cutting off the thumb of an oven mit.

I miss acting, even though I am a bit afraid to pursue it for several reasons. One of them is the difficulty of auditions…without having assigned lines to read beforehand, reading from a script can pose a problem for showing your acting skills when you have to look close to the page, and thus can’t interact with the other actors as easily (or show your best to the director).

I wish I could be a well-rounded Renaissance Man – not only writing, but making art, music, and acting. (Never had much interest in sculpting or dancing.)

One Response to What are these, so withered and so wild in their attire?

  1. Dana says:

    Unfortunately, Andrew, we can’t all be as artistically talented as others. A certain F word comes to mind. Hint: 2 syllables, sounds like Teflon.

Leave a Reply

