National Novel Writing Month Begins!

November is National Novel Writing Month! I’ve never officially written a novel (unofficially is another story), but it sounds like fun and challenging idea to write 50,000 words in 30 days. That works out to about 175 pages in a standard paperback size, and 100 pages in Microsoft Word, single-spaced, with 1 inches margins all around. The focus is on quantity over quality.

Check out the website below for details. I’m not sure whether I’m gonna sign up on the site, or just do this on my own.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

To reach 50,000 words, dividing the days up equally, would mean 1,667 words per day, or about 3 pages in Word. I managed to write 2,113 today! Yay! It’s kinda fun, and feels like an accomplishment to know I produced that much in one day, so I’m hoping the experience will be as satisfying by the end of the month.

I plan to update my word count here on the blog regularly.

This may be a slight cheat, but I am not starting from scratch–I’m adding to an ambitious werewolf story that I’ve been working on and revising for years. I already had 30 pages written for the current version (33 now), and have a number of ideas for my characters. Nanowrimo advises against this kind of thing, but I’ve been wanting to try to come up with a complete draft for this project, whether it stinks or not.

4 Responses to National Novel Writing Month Begins!

  1. Angele Ellis says:

    A good start for day one. Keep on letting it flow…

  2. cristin says:

    good luck andy!!!!

  3. Don says:

    Andrew, good luck! Don

  4. Miles says:

    Hey, I’m at the liberry writing too! My dad promised to contact us regularly and yell at us to keep writing–yes! Keep it up and I’ll see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

